↑ Return to Race Reports

2013 Round 1

2013 BRCA L.S.O.R Round 1 – The Revisit

Words By Mike Humphreys, LSOR Pro, lsorpro@brca.org

Pictures By Darren Worth, LSOR Chairman, lsorchair@brca.org


After being called off when Mother Nature was in a bad mood and delivered this years snow on the run up to the planned visit at the end of March , it was back to the East Midlands and NDOR for round 1 revisited.

Having already run round 2 which delivered a few shocks to the racers the questions being asked were….

Will Dominic Blackburn continue his winning form?

Will Guy Hayward finish a race?

Are Andy Blackburn’s nuts tight enough?

As a number of people arrived on Saturday 4th of May, they were greeted with showers which fortunately, had cleared up in time for practice to get under-way. With numbers down slightly from the previous meeting, everyone got plenty of track time in order to ensure they had the perfect set up for the main races on the Sunday. With practice done, the socialising continued into the evening with a warm atmosphere around the camping area.

Sunday morning heralded bright sunshine and the drivers were briefed by our race director and chief scrutineer on the day’s events. 50 competitors split into 2 heats of 2wd, 2 heats of 4wd and 1 heat of short course trucks, the drivers were chomping at the bit to get under way.

In the 2wd class, James McCarthy was back in form with the usual suspects, Andy & Dominic Blackburn, Karl Norris, Andy Knight and Steve Milner. Passing through on the way to a large scale on road meeting was Dave Ashton who was also showing off his skills and brand new car.

On particularly good form in the 2wd class were Paul Gresty, Dan Tough followed by a racy looking John Darby and Jim McManus.

Those reading the short course heat results will see  there was very little between the drivers with Tim Press, Dave Smith and Doug McMillian all leading the board for a heat but being hounded by Jim Davis and Nigel Reeks (not a desirable thing to have). A mid table battle was also ensuing between Stefan Howe, Roger Smith and Guy Page. Tony Desay and Marc Harrison were in the fight too, all in all with less than 30 seconds separating the top 10 it gave for some exciting racing.

In the 4wd class, the fight was on and with the absence of the old dog “Steve Haynes”, Steven Backland and Ian Oddie fought tooth and nail to get the top spot with some very quick consistent racing. As with the other classes, there wasn’t much gap between the top 10 drivers. Stuart Carrick and Guy Hayward pushing their converted short course trucks to the limit and Les Darby “driving like he’d stolen it”, the finals would be of great interest.


The 2WD C final was quite a close affair with Dan Tough beating Mark Cove and Pete Seymour over the line by a lap, all 3 drivers bumping up a level. Two of the previous meetings A finalists, Mark Higgins and Glyn Taylor seemed to be having issues and were unable to progress from the B final. Jason Manley, Dan Tough (again) and possibly one of the longest serving large scale enthusiasts Paul Gresty, all bumped up a level to the A final.

The B final 4wd was a close battle. With the shock exit of front runner Robert Beevers, leaving the door open for Roger Smith, Andy Love and Terry Jackson to take the top 3 placed. Narrowly missing the bump up were Doug “2 cars” McMillain and Ayaz Aslam who were only seconds behind.

The short course A finalunder way, all the drivers were taking full advantage of the dry conditions and getting some big air over the triple jump. The racing in this final was the closest I’ve seen for a long time with only 10 seconds between 1st. 2nd & 3rd and 2 laps down, another 10 second gap between 4th, 5th & 6th. A great close race to watch with Dave Smith taking 1st, Doug McMillian in 2nd and TLR boss man Jim Davis taking the 3rd spot.


Next on the track was the 4wd A final. Steven Backland on pole followed by Ian Oddie and a tidy drive in qualifying placed Darren Johnson on the 3rd spot of the grid. After a re start due to the race directors tea being cold, the race got under way with Steven and Ian setting the pace while Darren Johnson had issues and had to pull into the pits to repair his car.

With Ian Lapping the field, Stuart Carrick, Terry Jackson and Roger Smith all broke down and had to withdraw from the race. A mid table battle ensued between Darren Johnson who returned to the track after some hastily performed repairs to his car, Andy Love, Les Darby and Mike Humphreys. With Ian Oddie 3 laps up or more on the rest of the field, Guy Haywood was chasing down Steve Backland for second spot but on this occasion, it wasn’t to be. The race ending with Ian Oddie in 1st, Steven Backland just holding on to second despite breaking down and Guy Haywood in 3rd, a further 1 minute on the clock and the results would have been different..


On to the last final of the day for the 2wd class. James McCarthy was  back on form following his B final at the previous round heading up the grid with Dan Tough bumping up to compete in his first National A final. A quick and tidy race saw James pull out ahead of the field being followed by Andy Blackburn, Andy Knight and Karl Norris. Dominic Blackburn was in a battle for the higher places with Jason Manley and Dave Ashton but with time passing, something had to give – Dominic, ran out of fuel leaving the race wide open for the mid table battle. 3rd, 4th, 5th and 6th places looking like they could go to the wire but Karl and Dave pulled out all the stops and with consistent laps, managed to pull away from the crowd and while they seemed unlikely to catch James and Andy, they were giving it everything, Dave just nicking 3rd from Karl by no more than 10 seconds or so. The race ended with  James McCarthy taking the honours from Andy Blackburn in second and Dave Ashton third.


With the results and prizes handed out, Darren Worth invited everyone to join the section at the first meeting at the Kendal racers and bashers club for round 3 on the bank holiday weekend of 24/25th May at what will be the only opportunity for our series to race on a dirt\grass surface so promises to be a cracking weekend Lake District traffic permitting.

With two rounds down and 6 to go the championships are hoting up, if you wish to find out before my next report which will contain a summary after round 3 then visit our results at www.brca-lsor.org. 

Our remaining race dates and venues are shown below,  

Rnd 4, 22nd June – Nook Raceway – Lofthouse, WF3 3JU

Rnd 5, 7th July – Nene Valley Raceway  – Northampton, NN29 7XA 

Rnd 6, 25th August – Kernow Off Road Track – Helston, TR13 0EL

Rnd 7, 22nd September  – North Ings Raceway – Sleaford, LN4 3QB

Rnd 8, 13th October – Notts Derby Off Road – Newthorpe, NG16 2DE


If you are reading this and not too far from any of our forthcoming venues then feel free to come along and see some of the largest radio car racing you will see in the UK. Likewise pop along to one of our venues and enquire about RC racing whether we are there or not.

Further details on the section and our hobby can be sourced via the BRCA website @ www.brca.org

Mike Humphreys

2013 BRCA LSOR Public Relations Officer, lsorpro@brca.org

pdf doc Brca lsor Round 1 race report download